fergie's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

defiant

Science Pick & Mix

As a culture we take liberties with scientific facts in order for them to comply with our belief system.

Global warming, for example, has long been established by the scientific community as an ecological fact. The matter is relatively complicated and as a whole people don't want to consider the cause-effect of their own actions, so our contribution to and the devastating consequences of this phenomenon have been largely ignored.

This is a psychological concept called belief perseverance. It is term used to express beliefs that are unreasonably resistant to change, despite evidence to the contrary.

In recent years, shifts in climate have made it difficult to dismiss the impact we've had on Mother Nature. By today's standards it would be ignorant to suggest global warming does not exist, or that we have contributed to it. Our belief system, as a whole, has changed because we can no longer deny the scientific evidence in front of us. Temperatures are more extreme and storms have gotten stronger. It suits our needs to put faith in this science now, but only because we don't want to look stupid.

Also, alternatives to fossil fuels are welcome because of the increasingly high price associated with using oil, for example. It suits our culture's needs, so we more openly subscribe to this shift in community thinking.

As an individual, I have use recycled materials and make efforts to recycle rather than just toss garbage in the big black bin. I've done so since the 90's. I was young, gay, and a self-described liberal so I had no choice. Plus, it was in contrast to popular convention so I was all about that.

Even so, it made no difference if this scientific theory was right or wrong because it appealed to my personal needs, which remain the same to this very day: to openly defy the conservative viewpoint.

2:09 p.m. - Feb. 28, 2007

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

endorphins

Endorphins Make You High

I�ve been slacking lately. From the lack of updates to this page in recent days that statement might be self-evident. Unfortunately it extends beyond that into other aspects of my personal life, such as maintaining a healthy diet and regular exercise, keeping my living environment clean, plus keeping up with other various errands has gone unchecked.

For example, I was finally able to get a new pair of glasses and it took me almost three weeks to have them adjusted correctly to fit my face.

My old glasses were stolen when I was robbed at gunpoint last month, so I had no other alternative than to simply wear the loose fitting frames. And no, the men who accosted me were not after stylish eyewear; they took my man purse and all my shit was in there. On the plus side, I�m so fantastically supermodel thin that even glasses have to be specially adjusted to keep them in place, so envy that bitches.

Speaking of bitches and being robbed, let me just say right here and now for the record that I have never been more disappointed in people than through my experience with being a crime victim. I have never been one to look for a handout and I deeply resent pity, but it would stand to reason that a typical human response would be something like compassion towards a fellow individual whose life was threatened by an armed thug. On the whole, my friends and family reacted in a way that one might expect. They expressed concern over my well being.

Yet there were complete strangers who demonstrated more compassion than some of my so-called friends.

The threat on my life was fleeting. Losing all of my personal effects deeply impacted my daily life. I don�t suppose there is ever a good time to be robbed, but for me the time of the incident was finically crippling.

I was at a very crucial point in my financial well-being; paying off my debt, and moving into a new home. Although I knew this would be a difficult period, ultimately it would vastly improve my situation. When I no longer had so much as an ID, it became increasingly difficult to manage my funds.

My social activities abruptly ceased. Imagine my surprise when, after replacing my cell phone, several text messages were returned with the following reply: who is this?

Who am I? The fucking number is the same as before!

How does one go about deleting someone from their phonebook in a matter of weeks? Especially someone they communicate with often and who very publicly announced they had all their possessions stolen from them.

I had sent a mass email to everyone in the world informing them of my new address, home number and cell situation. Everybody knew the deal, even random people from my various travels who never knew my phone number that I fucked in the ass and kept in touch with by email. In fact, even one of my friends who -- hard as it is to believe -- does not use a computer heard the news and tracked me down to make sure we remained in contact.

In contrast, there were those who knew I was going through a difficult period and made a conscious decision to basically avoid me at all cost. I guess my troubles were a buzz kill.

I was quite upset about this but felt expressing my hurt feelings would only make me more vulnerable and potentially lead to even greater emotional stress.

Well, dear readers, I never write about anything until I can put it to rest. I�m no longer upset or hurt. I�ve quietly buckled down and gotten myself back on track, replacing my personal items with even cuter, designer effects (such as the new Versace glasses; previously Calvin Klein) gotten my bank account issues resolved, renewed my resolve to eat proper food -- and as of this week -- gotten back to the gym, all while paying off my debt and becoming comfortable in my new home. I have, as Madonna would say, made it through the wilderness.

I won�t lie to you and say I�m too mature to hold a grudge. I suppose I should be thankful that a few selfish pricks effectively cut themselves out of my life over the past few weeks, but I�d rather punch them in the face. I see that as a more effective resolution to the situation. Then everyone knows where they stand with one another, and I get to punch people in the face. It�s a win win.

6:52 p.m. - Feb. 22, 2007

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

STFU

People who compare their current life situation to Iraq: STFU

I'm sick of hearing the following: "We don't have it as bad as those serving in Iraq; it's not like having a child in Iraq," etc.

I can't stand that others use the suffering of others to trivialize someone else's situation, or even worse, bring up the loosing battle in the Middle East as some sort of passive-aggressive protest to a war they probably supported when it started.

There's always a worse situation. That does not and should not belittle the matter at hand. Deal with what is in front of you or go do something about Iraq.

7:46 a.m. - Feb. 21, 2007

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

duster

Should I sniff it?

A buddy of mine and I were chatting and somehow the conversation turned to abusing computer cleaner. Most of my AIMs are non-linear. Sniffing gaseous chemicals has never really been my thing, so I�ve never tried the 10 second Duster inhale. Anyway, I guess it totally fucks you up.

Of course, it can also cause respiratory shutdown. And brain damage and stuff. And stuff being the worst case scenario.

I�m filling in at my old office this week after my regularly insane work hours, mainly, to torture myself. Why not work a 13 hour day? I mean I've got nothing else going on.

First thing I spot when I sit down in front of the remnants of my old computer? Big canister of computer cleaner, of course.
Side note: isn�t it always a bit odd when you return to a former workplace �and see how your old equipment, computer, phone, etc., have been dispersed around the office? Scavengers! -- That was my stapler! My spinny-roundie-pencil-pen-holder-thingie! Hey, my shot glass! -- That kind of thing.

Now I don't know if this canister has been here all week. The state of this particular corner of the office is, shall we say, disheveled. It could have �easily been here all along.

Measuring tape, hand sanitizer, duster canister, post-its stuck to the desk, pile of papers behind the monitor, beside the monitor, on top of and scattered around the printer, which is that white blob on top, center. It's kind of a crappy phone pic but you get the idea. �

Anyway, after the computer cleaner popped out at me, I just thought maybe I should do a 10 second Duster inhale. But then I didn�t. Mainly because I'm not sure about the procedure and didn�t want to injure myself. A first-time high off an office supply product is one thing; a resulting hospital visit is quite another. Don't try this at work!

4:30 p.m. - Feb. 15, 2007

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

v-day

Another single Valentines Day...?

7:21 a.m. - Feb. 14, 2007

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

bacon

Too Much Bacon

Celebrating an award win, we were once again treated to a catered breakfast yesterday. This was preceded of course by a rallying pep talk from our dynamic ringleaders, who thankfully possess the ability to speak in front of a group without boring everyone to tears or spewing banal, clich� compliments.

There is nothing worse than the smell of fresh food wafting over some hackneyed ass droning on for their own benefit; so they may claim they do, in fact, take time out to acknowledge a staff of individuals they otherwise regard as nothing more than faceless workhorses at their command. It totally sours the meal. So, quite happily, that is not the case with our execs.

Also, the fact that the meal is being written off on a monthly expense account that likely rivals your yearly income can be readily overlooked when you're actually enjoying yourself. You know, as opposed to being forced fed so-called office comradery at a mandatory meeting garnished with warmed-over nibble.

When I was working on the awareness campaign (translation: celebrities who pose with diseased children to illicit money from potential donors) for CHLA, we were often subjected to mandatory office parties. Forced smiles all around, and if you ducked into a corner or private conversation some supervisor type hassled you to "join the party," meaning "you must suffer with the rest of the group," because gleaming even the slightest bit of delectation from the event was, apparently, not permitted.

side note: Public figures who lend their "celebrity status" to promote awareness for a cause could, of course, privately lend a few dollars -- rather than their face on a poster -- but doing something good isn't worth doing unless you get credit for it. Without the public accolades there's no point in being charitable, just ask Oprah. Oh yes, I took it there girlfriend. I loves the Oprah, I'm just worried she might break her arm patting herself on the back someday.

Supposedly, the ends justify the means or some shit like that. For me though, it's all about the intent, no matter what the results. Maybe that's where that old saying, "the road to hell is paved with good intentions," comes from.

Whatever! I'd rather burn for eternity by the lake of fire than feign sincerity.

1:39 p.m. - Feb. 09, 2007

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

sundays

Driving around Hollywood today, I came across a sign that read: "Open seven days a week (and Sundays too)"

We're living in uncertain times in an ever-changing world, but I'm pretty sure Sunday is still counted as one of the seven days of the week. Otherwise, I am horribly out of the loop. They would announce something like that, right?

4:20 p.m. - Feb. 07, 2007

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

rubbinit

Most of you are probably freezing your asses off right about now. It's in the 70's here in Hollywood, but I'm not going to rub it in.

5:49 p.m. - Feb. 06, 2007

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

shoes

Some friends of mine were talking about this clip awhile ago and I finally got around to watching it. I don't make a habit of browsing around youtube but I can see why people are addicted to that site. This is a jem!

11:55 a.m. - Feb. 05, 2007

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Mocha Choco Lata!

Mocha Choco Lata!

Industry people are so freaking spoiled and I love it. But probably only because I'm one of them. I mean what's the point of working for a studio if you don't get to enjoy a few perks? Sure, I'm living my dream by working as a full-time writer for the number one entertainment news magazine in the world (my "day job"), but without the coddling, hand-holding, daily breakfast nosh, fancy parties, catered meals, freebies, celebrity access, all-staff pep talks and constant praise, it would just be another day job.

Today we were treated to one of our favorite, uh, treats -- the coffee bar!

I was going somewhere with this, but I'm too jumped up on caffeine to stay focused! I've had four mocha-choco-lattes! Exclamation point-!!

1:07 p.m. - Feb. 02, 2007

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

FEB-07

Cartoon Terror

You may have heard about this on the news or read it online, but if not, here are the highlights from the biggest story coming out of Boston this week...

"Publicity stunt stirs fears of terrorism and shut down parts of the city."

"The 1-foot tall signs, which were lit up at night, resembled a circuit board, with protruding wires and batteries."

"The appearance of this device and its location are crucial," Attorney General John Grossman said. "This device looks like a bomb."

Based on this statement, Assistant Attorney General John Grossman has never seen a bomb. In fact I have serious doubts he even knows what a bomb is. An actual picture (and I fucking kid you not) of the offending, panic inducing device is below:


Light bright mistaken for WMD.

I really had to search for a picture because most of the stories did not include one, choosing instead to go with a bird's eye view of the area or, even more sensational, a bomb squad on the scene as they responded to reports of a terrorist threat. Later stories included pictures of the men arrested for this so-called hoax.

Of course, since it was actually gorilla advertising and not a fake bomb scare, calling the incident a hoax is, in my opinion, inaccurate.

"It is outrageous, in a post 9/11 world, that a company would use this type of marketing scheme," Mayor Thomas Menino said.

Berdovsky, the artist hired by a marketing firm to create the ads, told The Boston Globe: "I find it kind of ridiculous that they're making these statements on TV that we must not be safe from terrorism, because they were up there for three weeks and no one noticed. It's pretty commonsensical to look at them and say this is a piece of art and installation."

4:27 p.m. - Feb. 01, 2007

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

outlook
everchanging
bigcheese
patw-21
halfdevoured
GlitterQueen
cheerboi
Jackofhearts
rumblelizard
prophecyboy
boardho
perceptionss
monogatari
absolutchaos
mentalblank
cuppajoe
marn
hothead
obscuresoul
jonathan29
buddhababy
mackaj
kungfukitten
flyingnut
deformatory
pantoum
thegay
suzannadanna
gerg69
evildilara
thoughts159