fergie's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

everybody's a critic

So, I just watched gossip with kate hudson and the guy from dawson�s creek (the one with the dark hair). Kind of paint by numbers deception tale about 3 roommates who play a game of rumors that eventually leads to kate accusing her boyfriend of date rape. We find out that the lead has a secret motive for destroying kate�s college years...so his roommate builds an elaborate scheme to find out the truth... which, as it turns out, is because he�s just mean. In the end, nothing is really at steak, and his character remains the same self-centered prick he was in the beginning of the movie. Actually, he�s revealed to be even more shallow and ego centric than the initial impression.

I hate those movies that try to go for a surprise ending, then the twist is totally stupid and contrived, and there are holes in the story. Take, for example, the pretend cops who just happen to be in kate�s room when the lead sneaks into her dorm. Like, how did they know he was coming?

Anyway, I would have liked a larger cast, with more focus on their interaction i.e. - how the rumors got spread, and I think the dawson�s creek kid would have been better as the dark gloomy lead. Also, I could have done without the nancy drew segue when one of the roommates goes back to the lead�s high school to check up on him. If you have seen this movie, you know what I am talking about. If you have not, you�re not missing too much in my opinion.

After seeing this, I thought of the game, with michael douglas and sean pen, which is also about a big plot of deception to set up the lead character. It�s much better, though. I won�t give any of it away in case you haven�t seen it. It�s very smart and the acting is far better. Sorry kate.

I guess it�s easy to be a critic. No one has ever really said anything bad about my work, and I know when they do I won�t take it very well. I won�t cry or anything, but I�m sure it will stick with me for some time. Art is very subjective; perhaps that�s why it�s hard not to take it personally. Everyone has his or her own opinion about it, yet it�s never quite the same as anyone else�s. Maybe some people really liked the movie.

I have a friend who is meeting with the producers of planet of the apes next week (this movie sucked), what�s he going to say, great movie? I loved the sets? Of course he is. Good or bad is also in context of the conversation. If I met marky mark I would tell him I loved it, but to all of you who know my true feelings, I can tell you it was shit. But again, it�s all subjective.

I�m not sure what point I�m trying to make. I guess on a larger scale, some movies (or singers, whatever) become popular and it�s cool to like them. People form an attachment to said movie, song, whatever, and if you don�t like it you are attacking their taste. My g-d, take it personal, I swear.

I usually find things about everything that I don�t like, as well as the good. I liked this, I didn�t like that. When I am talking about it, I can be a little more objective than saying it was complete shit.

Like I said before, here in my diary, you know my true thoughts. Shh. Don�t tell marky mark!

::fergie::

-

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

outlook
everchanging
bigcheese
patw-21
halfdevoured
GlitterQueen
cheerboi
Jackofhearts
rumblelizard
prophecyboy
boardho
perceptionss
monogatari
absolutchaos
mentalblank
cuppajoe
marn
hothead
obscuresoul
jonathan29
buddhababy
mackaj
kungfukitten
flyingnut
deformatory
pantoum
thegay
suzannadanna
gerg69
evildilara
thoughts159